Chorea Huntington

Chorea Huntington

Huntington’s disease, also known as Huntington’s disease or Huntington’s chorea, is a hereditary disease of the brain that is today incurable. The disease is typically characterized by involuntary and uncoordinated movements. However, at the same time, loose muscle tone. Older names of the disease are chorea major, large St. Vitus ‘dance or simply St. Vitus’ dance.

In the German-speaking area, the disease is also often abbreviated to HD. HD stands for the English Huntington’s disease.

Sufferers of the disease suffer from the progressive destruction of a region of the brain, which is very important for the control of the muscles and fundamental mental functions. This area is the striatum.

In this area, defective cells destroy brain cells. These proteins are formed by a defect of the Huntington’s gene.

Disorders of the emotional life and the control of the muscles including the facial expressions, as well as the brain function altogether belong to the external symptoms of illness. In the final stage, the disease can lead to dementia. The fact that the facial expressions are often affected, it often leads to the fact that the progress of the disease in the external disease appearance is significantly more advanced than is really the case.

Huntington’s disease is usually around the age of 40 leading to the first symptoms of the disease. These are movement disorders and mental symptoms. The disease is autosomal dominant and belongs to the neurodegenerative diseases.

After the first symptoms, Huntington’s disease is always severe and, on average, leads to death after 15 years. With a few exceptions, sooner or later all carriers of the disease get sick. The allele causing the disease has been detectable since 1993 on the short arm of the fourth chromosome. Even with the unborn child through amniocentesis or chorionic villus sampling.

Chorea Huntington

Chorea Huntington

Bei Chorea Huntington, auch Huntington-Krankheit oder auch Huntingtonsche Chorea betitelt, handelt es sich um eine stand heute unheilbare erbliche Erkrankung des Gehirns. Die Erkrankung zeigt sich typischerweise durch oft unwillkürliche, sowie unkoordinierte Bewegungen. Bei jedoch gleichzeitig schlaffem Muskeltonus. Ältere Namen der Krankheit sind Chorea major, großer Veitstanz oder einfach Veitstanz.

Im deutschsprachigen Bereich wird die Krankheit auch gerne mit HD abgekürzt. HD steht hier für das englische Huntington’s disease.

Betroffene der Krankheit, leiden an der fortschreitenden Zerstörung einer Region des Gehirns, welche für die Steuerung der Muskeln und fundamentale mentale Funktionen sehr wichtig ist. Dieser Bereich ist das Striatums.

In diesem Bereich werden durch fehlerhafte Proteine Gehirnzellen zerstört. Diese Eiweiße werden durch einen Defekt des Huntington-Gens gebildet.

Störungen des Gefühlslebens und die Steuerung der Muskeln inklusive der Mimik, sowie die Hirnfunktion insgesamt gehören zu den äußeren Krankheitserscheinungen. Im Endstadium kann die Krankheit zur Demenz führen. Dadurch, dass die Mimik oft in Mitleidenschaft gezogen wird, führt es oft dazu, das der Fortschritt der Erkrankung in der äußeren Krankheitserscheinung deutlich weiter fortgeschritten sei, als wirklich der Fall ist.

Chorea Huntington führt meist um das 40. Lebensjahr zu den ersten Symptomen der Krankheit. Diese sind Bewegungsstörungen und psychische Symptome. Die Krankheit wird autosomal-dominant vererbt und gehört zu den neurodegenerativen Erkrankungen.

Nach den ersten Symptomen nimmt Chorea Huntington immer einen schweren Verlauf und führt im Durchschnitt nach 15 Jahren zum Tod. Bis auf wenige Ausnahmen erkranken früher oder später alle Merkmalsträger. Vollständige Penetranz. Das Allel, welches die Krankheit verursacht, lässt sich seit 1993 auf dem kurzen Arm des vierten Chromosoms nachweisen. Sogar beim Ungeborenen durch Amniozentese oder Chorionzottenbiopsie.